NBR 2023 Awards Found Their Owners

 NBR 2023 Awards Found Their Owners

The National Board of Review (NBR), one of the oldest organizations to give out film awards, announced 2023 awards yesterday.

The best film award went to Killers of the Flower Moon, the best director award went to Martin Scorses for Killers of the Flower Moon, the best actor award went to Paul Giamatti for The Holdovers and the best actress award went to Lily Gladstone for Killers of the Flower Moon.

Cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto was a double winner for his work on Killers of the Flower Moon and Barbie, bringing the total to four. Alexander Payne’s The Holdovers was also a triple winner taking Best Actor for Paul Giamatti, Supporting Actress for Da’Vine Joy Randolph and Original Screenplay for David Hemingson. Poor Things earned two wins: Supporting Actor for Mark Ruffalo and Adapted Screenplay for Tony McNamara. Both films were in the group’s top 10, which also included Barbie, The Boy and the Heron, Ferrari, The Iron Claw, Maestro, Oppenheimer and Past Lives.


The top 10 independent films were: All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt, All of Us Strangers, BlackBerry, Earth Mama, Flora and Son, The Persian Version, Scrapper, Showing Up, Theater Camp and A Thousand and One.
Celine Song was awarded best directorial debut for Past Lives and Teyana Taylor earned a win for breakthrough performance for A Thousand and One.

Among the major snubs this morning were Oppenheimer with just a single top 10 mention with American Fiction, May December and The Color Purple earning no mentions at all.

The annual National Board of Review gala will take place on January 11, 2024 in New York City. Here is the complete list of winners and honorees.

Best Film: Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Director: Martin Scorsese, Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Actor: Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers
Best Actress: Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo, Poor Things
Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers
Best Original Screenplay: David Hemingson, The Holdovers
Best Adapted Screenplay: Tony McNamara, Poor Things
Best Directorial Debut: Celine Song, Past Lives
Breakthrough Performance: Teyana Taylor, A Thousand and One
Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Best International Film: Anatomy of a Fall
Best Documentary: Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie
Best Ensemble: The Iron Claw
NBR Icon Award: Bradley Cooper
Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Rodrigo Prieto, Barbie and Killers of the Flower Moon
Outstanding Achievement in Stunt Artistry: Director Chad Stahelski and Stunt Coordinators Stephen Dunlevy & Scott Rogers, John Wick: Chapter 4
Top Films (in alphabetical order)
The Boy and the Heron
The Holdovers
The Iron Claw
Past Lives
Poor Things
Top 5 International Films (in alphabetical order)
La Chimera
Fallen Leaves
The Teachers’ Lounge
The Zone of Interest
Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order)
20 Days in Mariupol
32 Sounds
The Eternal Memory
The Pigeon Tunnel
A Still Small Voice
Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order)
All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
All of Us Strangers
Earth Mama
Flora and Son
The Persian Version
Showing Up
Theater Camp
A Thousand and One

Click Here for More Award Content in Episode International


Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *